20s in the 70s

My sister and I were in our 20s in the 70s, and now we are in our 70s in the 20s!! And we still travel with the joie de vivre of our younger selves. Just back from an Arizona adventure, I really appreciate seeing the world with Cathy. Both of us value experience over acquisition and comfort food over fancy restaurants. We can get up and out early, and feel no need to stay up late. And if we can’t sleep, we read or eat or both.

This road trip was motivated by a desire to visit our brother in his new place in Tucson, and the crazy fact that neither of us had ever visited the Grand Canyon. So south to north, we plotted a 5-night escape and managed to include friends, family, and three National Parks! We both take beaucoup photographs and enjoy outdoor sketching, so this was an itinerary with lots of opportunities. And between our mountain cabin overlooking a roaring Oak Creek and the charming BnBs in Tucson and Indio, our accommodations were inexpensive and welcoming. And we only ate in restaurants twice!!

Every summer Cathy drives eight hours to our family vacation place in the Smoky Mountains. I try to join her whenever possible, but this year we shared Arizona instead. I’m sad to miss The Mountain House in 2023, but the Forest Houses outside Sedona were a lovely substitute. I hope she and I can stay healthy enough to visit Scotland – or wherever we decide on – next year. Retirement is such a blessing and I don’t want to waste a minute of it!

3 comments

  1. reneeplummer1 · September 13

    really enjoyed this read; & your sketches are wonderful as always. so happy you and Cathy are such great traveling companions. 💜

  2. cathytyler · September 13

    Well said! Always a pleasure traveling with you!

  3. tagpipspearl · September 19

    Lovely post – and your relationship with your sister sounds wonderful! I’ve always wished I had that.

Leave a comment