Train Tripping

In the last few weeks, I’ve gone on two train adventures – one south to Orange County, one north to Ventura. There’s a station just a few minutes from our house (we can hear the whistles blow when the wind is right) with ample free parking. Proximity and convenience are great motivators – now if the trains would just run on time, I’d be riding the rails regularly!

Paola and I took Amtrak to Irvine on a Friday to meet the Getty Galz at the Orange County Museum of Art. We beat the group that carpooled down (they got lost), but returning home was a bust. Our northbound Surfliner was over two hours late and we had to stick by the tracks because they never announced a revised ETA. Then when we finally boarded, the brief stop at Union Station turned into a train change, more unexplained waiting, then the announcement that we were waiting for paramedics! I got home at 11 p.m. instead of the scheduled 7:30!!

The artventure was fun – we saw an excellent Alice Neel exhibition and had a Peruvian lunch – and then dashed over to Balboa Island and did lots of walking. (My new knee held up great – 11,500 steps!! – but my hip not so much.) And I really enjoyed riding the 3-car ferry across to the quaint tourist destination which I hadn’t visited in over 40 years.

Last Friday I Amtrak’ed to Ventura to visit Getty Gal Robin who is in the process of moving up the coast to be closer to her grandkids. We had a wonderful day seeing some local highlights – the botanical gardens, Main Street restaurants and cool shops, the Mission – all in walking distance of each other! The vibe is very laid back, like a mini and less hoity-toity Santa Barbara. I see why Robin loves her new neighborhood, and I’m looking forward to more train escapes up her way.

Leave a comment