Technology challenges, “senior version”

Posted on by dkmercer

I bought a new MacBookPro last November, but am just now trying to totally transfer over to it from my dying old laptop (seven years is ancient in computer age). I’m not a geek, but having used Macs since Apple first made graphics computers in the late 80s, I have some tech savvy. Now that I’m retired, however, I can’t turn to one of my smartie-pants students to help me. And my senior brain is out of practice solving technology challenges.

Paola and me on the Balboa Island pier

My go-to Mac consultant now is my younger friend Paola, and she’s tops at finding answers. I’ve been putting off doing this transfer because it makes my head hurt to read and comprehend tech-speak. But Paola is patient (she is, after all, the principal caregiver for her aging mom) and she calmly talks me through. The final straw that broke the “I’ll get around to it sometime” block was discovering that neither computer would print to my almost 20-years-old laser printer, and my elder scanner connection was developing arthritis.

Solution? A brand new printer/scanner combo from Costco! And I’m relieved to report that I was able to set it up and get it connected and scanning and printing without having to bother my friend. So if anyone out there has an older computer and needs a workhorse of a black and white printer, full of ink, please let me know. (There is no print driver for computers with OS newer than 10.10). Next problem: I can’t remember the password on my backup drive to retrieve my archived files! Paola???

Edit

One comment

  1. reneeplummer1 · August 6

    Great deal on the printer – plus Shaq is the sponsor. How can it be wrong?!! good luck with the rest of the set up and transferring💜

Leave a comment