Age is Just a Number…

My friend Robin sent me an article this week about how many people have “an age in your head” that is considerably younger than reality. And that imaginary number tends to remain the same as the calendar years flow by. I certainly don’t feel like my mental picture of 72: old, slowing down, forgetful. I have foresworn hair coloring, but that is sheer laziness on my part. And when I trim my hair and see the white and gray curls on the floor, it still surprises me. Just like that wrinkled face in the mirror, which reminds me of my mother but no way could be me. So 39 is my “age in my head”, and I sometimes forget that younger people see an old lady and not the “real me”!! And to compound the conundrum, my eldest daughter just turned 39!! So we are the same age this year – but what happens going forward? Good thing age is just a number…

Whitney’s graduation from 6th grade ~. Whit, pup Echo and me a year ago

Leave a comment